The Wedding Dress

05/25/2007 at 8:27 am (Uncategorized)

If any of you have come to one of my bookstore events, you’ve probably heard the story of my wedding dress. I won’t give the whole thing right now, but the general idea is that it is a magical dress that not only conforms to the wearer-whatever her shape-but also transforms her and connects her to the women, before and after, who have worn it. Does this sound familiar at all?I wore it when I got married 14 years ago. Then my sister-in-law Kirsten wore it when she married my older brother. Then my sister-in-law Katrina wore it when she married my younger brother. Then by my life-long friend Beth wore it at her wedding. Now my youngest brother Ben is getting married and there was some suspense as to whether his fiance, Kate, would wear it. Well, guess what? She’s wearing it. (I didn’t pressure her, I swear).

Kate emailed me a couple of days ago to say that a woman (I think a co-worker) asked her what she was wearing to her wedding. Kate explained the great history of The Wedding Dress and all of its wearers. The co-worker said, “That’s just like the Traveling Pants.” And Kate explained that, in fact, I, her sister-in-law to be was not only the originator of the dress, but also wrote the Traveling Pants. According to Kate, the woman was “gobsmacked.” I love that expression, but do not feel entitled to use it in regular speech, because I am not British. Kate is British, so it sounds just right from her.

7 Comments

  1. Maggie said,

    aw, sweet story! can i borrow the dress too??? pretty please?

  2. A said,

    Wow, that is incredible! How did this start? There must be more to the story.

  3. Anonymous said,

    I wish i was British. you could say things like Bloody Brillent w/o sounding like a moron.

  4. Hannah said,

    Books always seem to be better when there is an element of the author’s reality behind it. What great inspiration! I have just started 3 Willows and I love how Jo, Ama and Polly have tried to share a pair of pants in imitation of Bee, Carmen, Lena and Tibby!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Hannah,

      It’s an experience that will always be with me.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  5. Prix pose carrelage said,

    Wow! this is truly amazing. There’s always that feeling of being belong and love in a family during a wedding. It has been a tradition for most families to pass to the next generations their engagement rings and wedding gowns, which I hope would also happen to me when I get married. I really like your story on the Traveling Pants and I’d have to say that its way much better when its on the book than in a movie. You inspire a lot of people with your writing.

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Ana,

      Thank you so much. I’m honored to have made the list!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

Leave a Reply

