The first page

06/17/2010 at 12:34 pm (My Name Is Memory)

Two summers ago I went for a run on the beach and stopped to look at the ocean. For some reason a sort of gruesome and highly dramatic scene came into my head, where a woman and a man are in a dire situation.  There is no way out, it seems, and she tries to persuade him to kill her and then kill himself, because she believes they will come out on the other side of death and be together again.  

I poked at the idea a little and my mind served up some quick answers.  Why does the woman believe this?  Because the man told her so.  Why did he tell her so?  Because he’s navigated death before and he knows that most people live again and again.  How does he know this?  Because he remembers it.  Why does he remember it?  Hmmm.  It just happens sometimes.  Because there is a wide continuum of memory.  Because once in a few centuries somebody is born who has a memory that extends past death.  

As I walked home my story got more voluptuous.  He loves her, I decided.  Not just in this life but before, too.  She can’t remember it, but he can.  And then I started to wonder: how far back does this memory of his go?   When was the very first time he saw her and what happened?

So anyway, that was how the idea started.  The more I thought about it, the more interested I became in the idea of his memory.

I got home and wrote up a page, which I ended up using as the first page of the book. 

77 Comments

  1. Lawrence said,

    Hi Ann,Firstly loved the Sisterhood books. They were all lovely and touching.Secondly, it was weird to me that you had that idea of that scene on the beach. I have had multiple dreams of that sort of thing happening, where a man and a woman love each other, and they come back, life after life to fall in love all over again.Lawrence

  2. isabel said,

    Dear Ann,
    A friend of mine and I are very passionate about writing and have started a blog: The Secret Life of the Bels and are keen to get some readers. If possible, would you be able to read our blog from the first post and perhaps tell us what you think of it? The recent posts are better than the first ones, so you might just like to read the posts of your interest! Thank you so much for your time!
    P.S. We both absolutely love your books!

  3. carina said,

    Hello Ann, I’m happy to know how it all started! I just read your new book “My name is Memory” and absolutely loved it! You write in such a passionate way that reading your story’s is to be a part of them, I found it hard to leave the book, even for a few hours, just to sleep or work. This book has inspired me to really start living, because we can’t let the fear of what might happen control us, or else nothing will ever happen. Thank you for sharing this and your other books with the world! I just have one question: does daniel and lucy’s story will have a sequel soon? If it will, I can’t wait to read it!
    Hope to hear news from you soon

    • annbrashares said,

      Carina,

      Thank you. The sequel… for now it’s up in the air – but I really hope everything lines up and I can get a sequel out.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

      • Ashley said,

        I just finished your book “My name is memory” and loved it. I am genuinely hoping that you make a sequel. I would like to know what happens to these characters that I have grown so close to. There are so many questions that I would love to know the answers to. So please please write a sequel 🙂 I am not ready for thier story to end. Thank you.
        -Ashley

      • Marina said,

        Ann,
        I read your book, My Name Is Memory, and your style was very inspiring, especially the way you wove together past and present. Your character, Daniel, to me, has that infinitely old soul that older people have a tendency to see in some youths (and say that they have an old soul), and I found him to be a very believable, heartfelt character. I have read so many books with characters from whom the reader is jolted away from, because they do something so sudden and inconsistent that the story no longer flows as it should. My absolute favorite moment was the beach scene by the bungalow, not just because it’s the expected consummation of the long awaited connection between Daniel and Sophia, but more so because Daniel remained true to himself–his many lives have made him a near recluse, and the fear in him was so palpable that I lost myself in the moment of his longing.
        I am a BFA student of Creative Writing at Hamline University in MN, and I have noticed that I seem to read every book with a mental pen, regardless of genre or subject, and I was glad to lose myself, if only for a moment, so that by end, I could return to discover something new.

        Thank you for sharing your wonderful story, and I sincerely hope that that the above-mentioned sequel aligns with your expectations and the hopes of your readers and fans,
        Marina.

  4. nika said,

    I have just read your last book…it was so touching,i couldn’t stop reading it..eve though i was out last night and was so tired…i kept reading it and finished it!it’s so special, cause i haven’t read anything like it before.and even though some are comparing it with time traveller’s wife it’s different in so many ways….it would be great to read a sequel,even though without it it’s so well written that you cn imagine the perfect ending if you only have a litle imagination…
    thank you for this!
    and i come from croatia,so it was nice to see that dalmatia was mentioned in the book;)!
    i wish you all the best with your future writing!!!

  5. Angela said,

    Listened to “My Name Is Memory” on unabridged audio driving to and from Christmas with my family in another state. Loved it so much I couldn’t get out of the car. PLEASE complete the sequel. A story this magical shouldn’t end in the middle.

    • annbrashares said,

      oh thanks!

    • Penny said,

      I also loved this book, although I felt like I was left hanging. Is there any possibility of a sequel? Sincerely- Penny

  6. Marko said,

    ” MY NAME IS MEMORY ” is amazing. I just finished reading yesterday and time of this 2011 feels completely different because one should ask – what was I in my past life ! ?
    And that should give a new perspective of how we love with our souls deeper and with more honesty to our self and to our partners. …
    I had a feeling of emptiness on the end of your – can not stop reading – book and I would like not only one sequel but lots of it….
    Please write a sequel that ends. And than please write a third sequel too.
    In Hollywood terms are we looking at the new ” Indiana Jones ” or ” Harry Potter “?
    This book has so much potential energy that if it doesn’t make in the best ever movie trilogy – than for sure they did not follow your book as thay should.
    I hope I will be able to ree it soon in English. I think original is always the best ! Your book opens a completely new word of thinking. Thank you so much !
    Marko

  7. likeabutterfly09 said,

    Hi Ann– I’ve been a fan since the Sisterhood days, but I just wanted to let you know that I absolutely loved both My Name is Memory and Last Summer. I read them back-to-back and have recommended both to several friends– half of my friends are all queuing up to read! Your writing style is so incredibly easy to follow and both of these books were thought-provoking and amazing. Can’t wait to read more!

  8. adella soemantri said,

    Dear ann,

    I have to say, when reading this book (in which i just bought last saturday), i have an uncomfortable amount of emotion. One time i was happy, then sad, then utterly gutted to know that these two souls are set apart then reunited again, with only him knowing the full reference on how their love started.

    I love how you used the idea of eternal love that rotates in and out, as years rolls in and rolls out without any infinite timing on how it will eventually, stop.

    Great great great book, a big fan already! (i’m just happy that i spared enough time at the Times Bookshop to read the excerpt properly!!!)

    Best wishes,

    adella

    • annbrashares said,

      Adella,

      Thank you and I appreciate what you said about eternal love!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  9. Amanda said,

    Hi Ann,
    So cool to know how authors come up with the idea for their novels, especially after I’ve just read them. I really, really loved your story. I read it in three days actually. I finished last night. I wasn’t planning on finishing, but reading a few chapters and going to bed, but I just couldn’t stop and knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep if I did! I still can’t stop thinking about it! Thank you for writing it.

    On another note, I was wondering if you’d heard of a book called Fallen (actually, it’s turned into a series) by Lauren Kate that has many similarities to your story, mainly about two people that have loved and known each other in past lives and they have almost the exact same names: Daniel and Luce. I haven’t read this one yet, but I have to say I was a little creeped out by the names even though there’s no way either of you could have known about the other’s stories considering they were released months of each other. I just thought it was a wacky coincidence and I had to share it.

    Amanda

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Amanda,

      Thank you for your lovely words. I so appreciate them. I hope everything lines up and that there will be a sequel to My Name Is Memory. Cross your fingers! I would love to follow Daniel through another couple of lifetimes. Wouldn’t you?

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

      • Victoria said,

        I was just wondering when the sequel to My Name is Memory coming out and was saddened to see it MIGHT NOT come out! I could not put this book down. Whenever anyone asks me for a recommendation this is on my list of books! I’ve been waiting for the sequel. I hated the ending and the only thing that made it better was the fact it was the 1st of a triology!!! Yes, I I would love to follow Daniel through another couple of lifetimes! What can we do to encourage your publisher to publish another 2 books or at least one more!?!

  10. Ana Peres said,

    Hi Ann. I have just finished reading “My Name Is Memory” last night. I just could not put it down. Please do write the sequel, we need to now the story behind the last chapter…
    How is Daniel going to deal with Joaquim and the news about the baby when hi goes back to Lucy (if can?) or even to get to know Ben (super interesting character) better.
    I will be waiting.
    Best wishes,
    Ana

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Ana,

      I’m so glad you enjoyed My Name Is Memory. As for a sequel, I do hope everything lines up. Cross your fingers!
      Thank you for your sweet note!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  11. Karen Griffin said,

    Wow! I just finished My Name is Memory & I felt like you wrote it just for me, so much so that I had to reach out & tell you, as I have never done this before.

    Wouldn’t if be fantastic if just some of it could be true & that true love does indeed transcend all boundaries. I choose to believe that it can!

    Thank you so much. I hated to put the book down and I anxiously await the sequel(s) and the movie!

    A new fan!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Hello a New Fan!

      Thank you for such kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed it and could relate! I agree, love does transcend all boundaries.
      I do hope everything lines up and there will be a sequel to My Name Is Memory. Cross your fingers!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  12. Claudi said,

    Ann,

    I am a hopeless romantic and avid book reader. While browsing the shelves in my local book store the cover of the book caught my eye and from that moment “My name is memory” could do no wrong. I absolutely fell in love with Daniel and Lucy (Sophia’s) story.

    The book was romantic but unlike many of the novels/books that are in vogue right now the love story was unique. Daniel and Lucy are unique. While they love one another they are constantly in doubt due to their human emotions and baggage. Her discovery of their previous lives is wonderful she didn’t passively accept his version of things. Daniel’s life is complex and riveting and I found it essential to understanding him and his motivations.

    The last two chapters of this book were AMAZING. I am quite literally writing this 5 minutes after completing it. PLEASE, please tell me that there is a more than slight chance that there will be a sequel.

    Thank you again for a fantastic and original story.
    Claudi

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Claudi,

      Thank you for such kind, beautiful and eloquent words. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I hope everything lines up and there will be a sequel to My Name Is Memory.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  13. Stacia said,

    Ann,
    I just finished, My Name Is Memory. It was fabulously brilliant!! I was glued to it, and now I need to know that Daniel and Lucy get to be together and raise that baby. You’re killing me here with that ending. So…..when is the follow up?

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Stacia,

      I’m so glad you loved the book and I appreciate the comments.
      As far as a sequel, we are all keeping our fingers crossed. Please keep your crossed, too!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  14. Jessica said,

    Ann,

    I have followed your career since I was 13 years old and have always been deeply inspired by your writing. From my first reading of “The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants” I have appreciated and admired the way you are able to develop such dynamic, likeable, and fundamentally real characters. I was thrilled to see you had started writing for an older audience when I reached my late teens and found “The Last Summer of You and Me” to be a beautiful and highly emotional read that I had a hard time putting down.

    Since then I have completed a university degree in Victorian literature and my literary tastes have changed somewhat, but I have always considered you among my favourite modern authors. I pre-ordered “My Name is Memory” because I was ecstatic that you had written another novel. Your newest book is by far my favourite to date. Memory is utterly compelling, and engaging, and as I’ve learned to expect, beautifully written. After studying past genres of literature for the last several years I often find contemporary fiction bland and redundant, but your novels are absolutely an exception.

    Your books have been inspiring me for the last decade, and I feel very fortunate that I got to grow up reading such fantastic fiction. You have such a gift for storytelling and character development, and I thank you so much for sharing your incredible imagination with the world.

    Kind Regards,

    Jessica

    P.S. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for a sequel too!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Jessica,

      Thank you for your lovely words. I so appreciate them. I love to feel like my books can make a difference or inspire another person and I am so grateful they have been important to you. Congratulations to you on your degree and in such a beautiful subject! I wish you all the best and please do keep your fingers and toes crossed.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  15. Samanta S said,

    Dear Ann,

    I’m from Portugal, I read The sisterhood of the traveling pants when it come out here in Portugal, and at the time I just love it, was a really good book.
    last year I read “last summer”, well I cry like a baby girl and became one of my favorities, it was just a perfect historie.
    now about a month ago I bought “My name is memory”, and it became also another of my favorites book’s, for me you’re one of the best writter’s. And I hope that you write a sequel of My name is memory.
    Sorry for my english not been the best.

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Samanta,

      Your English is very good. So glad you loved the books.
      I can’t tell you for certain if there will be a sequel to My Name is Memory. Fingers and toes crossed everything lines up!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

      • Samanta S said,

        I really hope that “My name is memory” has a sequel, because it’s a perfect storie that just make us want more.
        Was a time of my life that because of writer’s like you I wanna to be a writer too, I was writing all the time, until one day I just stoped and since that time, never try writing a story again, it’s like something is missing in me, but thats life, doesn’t always go the away we won’t, but maybe one day I will write again… The future is a mystery, and there isn’t nothing better that having books like yours to accompany along the way.

  16. Tia Miller said,

    I really LOVED “My Name Is Memory”! I was instantly sucked into the story. When will there be a sequel? I am on pins and needles waiting to find out what happens to Daniel and Lucy. Keep up the GREAT work!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Tia,

      Thank you for your kind and sweet words. So glad you loved My Name Is Memory. As for a sequel, fingers crossed! We’ll have to wait and see.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  17. Madeline said,

    Hello Ann,

    I’m sorry if this is irrelevant but I’m really longing to read your new series of the sisterhood. I happen to have 3 best friends as well. In fact, sometimes your story is often awkwardly coincidental with mine : )

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Madeline,

      Your comment is not irrelevant, many people feel the same.
      You will have a very short wait as Sisterhood Everlasting will be out in June. I hope you enjoy it!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  18. CFCM said,

    Ann,

    I just sat and read My Name is Memory in one sitting. I should be working right now but instead I’m trolling the internet to find out details on the next book! I know you’ve heard this a million times, but please write a sequel. I hope you are ready for the flood of new fans that are coming your way because I’m giving this book to everyone I know! It was wonderful. I may not be the target audience (I’m a 36 year old lawyer) but it touched me. I literally couldn’t put it down (literally – it’s 9 pm and I’m writing a brief b/c I snuck off and read the book today!).

    Thank you so much for writing all your books. They are a joy to read. If you do write a follow up to Memory, I’ll be the first in line to buy it!

    –Clare

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Clare,

      Thank you for your sweet words. I’m thrilled you enjoyed My Name is Memory. Keep your fingers crossed! I would certainly love to follow Daniel through many more lifetimes!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  19. Michelle Pierce said,

    Well, I would love to tell you how much I loved this book and would beg and plead for a sequel, but that has already been said. So can I ask…is there anyone we should write to to encourage this splendid author to be given a deal you just couldn’t refuse?! We have to follow Daniel a while longer…I mean, he’s going to be a daddy for the first time…we can’t just be left hanging 🙂

    I will say though…this book quickly became one of my all time favorites (which are very, very few)…Your love story epitomizes the concept of an epic love story!!!

    Michelle

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Michelle,

      So happy you loved My Name is Memory. I appreciate you wanting a sequel. I ask you keep your fingers and toes crossed that there is one. I, too, would love to follow Daniel through many more lifetimes! In the meantime, I will see you in the pages.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  20. Kim Elkhøj said,

    Dear Ann,

    As I can see many others have wrote, I too love your book “My name is Memory”. I picked it up in the book store in Copenhagen, after reading the back of the book, and knew I had to read this story. And again, as I can see many others have wrote, I too hope for a sequel, searching the internet now and again for news.

    This time I though I leave you a message about how much I enjoyed reading your book, and how I love your writing. I wish you well, and look forward to more off your work.

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Kim,

      Thank you for your sweet words. So happy you enjoyed My Name is Memory. No word on a sequel but keep your fingers crossed. Keep checking the blog for updates.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  21. Mia said,

    Hi Ann!

    I just finished reading “My Name is Memory”. And I absolutely loved it! Last night, I snuck the book and a flash light into my room just so I could keep reading (I bet my mom would have freaked out if she saw me reading under the covers when I was supposed to be asleep). I just couldn’t put the book down! I love it! Even the ending though it was kind of frustrating. I just want to know more. What happened to Daniel? What were the things he had to get done? I really want to find out . . .

    PS. I plan on buying my friend a copy of the book. I bet she’ll kill me for the ending. Haha! I mean she’d want to know more too.

    Please please make a sequel! I couldn’t come up with anything to satisfy my questions about whether or not Lucy or Sophia and Daniel will have a happy ending!

    And thanks a billion for this story! I love it so much! It’s one of the best I’ve read.

  22. Heather Akers said,

    Ann,

    I have just finished My Name is Memory. I can honestly say that this is one of the best stories that I have ever read. I am a seriously, avid book-aholic! I probably read 200 books a year. Most times if I am into a book, I just read straight through, as fast as I can read to find out what happens. That is what I wanted to do with this book, but I had to contain myself. I knew that the faster I read, the sooner the book would end. I didn’t ever want it to! I wanted the story to go on and on….Like you said, it would be wonderful to follow Daniel and Lucy through a few more lifetimes to say the least. The only other books that I have ever yearned for the next ones are the Highlander series by Diana Gabaldon. Obviously, the story of Daniel has enough substance to endure through a few sequels…..As much history as there was in this book, you could go on and on forever with it, but eight or nine more books should do it! 🙂 Thanks so much for such a wonderful love story and for developing such fantastic characters such as Lucy and Daniel. I am your new biggest fan!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Heather,

      Thank you for your sweet words. I’m glad their lifetimes and love have touched you.

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  23. christine said,

    hi ann! 🙂 i really do hope there’d be a sequel… it pains me to think that daniel and lucy’s story are left open ended. you have made a story that touched hearts and i’m sure everyone who has read it had a imprint of what it would be like to love forever… 🙂

  24. Katie C. said,

    Hi Ann,
    I was wondering when the sequel to My Name is Memory will be out? Please write a sequel! I really want to know what happens to Daniel and Lucy because it’s an amazing story.

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Katie,

      Fingers crossed everything lines up for a sequel!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  25. R.Monty said,

    Hello Ann,
    I’m dying to know if there is any new updates on a sequel so far? My sister and I are still crossing out fingers hoping it will happen, it truly was an amazing story and are looking forward to continue the story. You are truly a talented writter.

    • Ann Brashares said,

      R.Monty,

      I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed it! Keep those fingers crossed tightly and as soon as I know I promise I won’t be able to keep that to myself!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  26. Melonie said,

    I know it is repetitive, but I NEED the sequel! I love reading all of your stories but this one has left me aching for more! I am imagining the craziest things that Daniel has to do to rid himself of his brother, and who their baby’s soul belongs to and how happy in love they are! Please Please don’t leave us hanging!

  27. Anindita said,

    Hi Ann,
    I just finished reading My Name is Memory and I just wanted to thank you for once again taking me on a journey that I didn’t want to end. I adored this book and once again was amazed at how incredibly gifted writers are. I fell head over heels in love with Lucy and Daniel and your ability to capture and reveal how love can transform us was so inspiring.

    I,however, did not want the story to end so I am praying for a sequel as I must know that Daniel will make it back to Lucy. Please, please, please continue the journey that Daniel and Lucy share so we can continue to be inspired by their love.

    Thank you for writing this book and I look forward to the sequel (*hint, hint*).

    Anindita

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Anindita,

      I’m glad to hear you were captivated by their love, I could go through a couple more lifetimes with them too! Keep checking the blog *hint hint*

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  28. Phyllis R. said,

    Hi Ann,

    I just finished “Sisterhood Everlasting” (and sobbed at the end). Thank you so much for that emotional but fulfilling end to the series. I also read “My Name Is Memory” several months ago and was devastated when the end left me hanging! I do so hope things work out for an eventual sequel. I’ll be anxiously awaiting the announcement. No pressure, of course! 🙂

    Thanks loads for sharing your amazing talent with us all.

    Warm regards,

    Phyllis

  29. Chisa said,

    Hi Ann,

    I was introduced to “My name is memory” by a good friend and as I’ve read and enjoyed the sisterhood I gladly succumbed to read that book, too. And I just laid it down and have to tell you how amazing it is! Undying love hasn’t been described in such a great way very often.
    I really, really hope that you will write a sequel and am waiting for it!

    Greetings from Germany!

  30. Macy R. said,

    Ann, I’m an avid book reader! I read Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants when it first came out when I was 12 years old and I can honestly say that when I read that book I fell in love with reading and have been an addict ever since. You are one of my favorite authors because you do such a good job of making the reader really connect with the characters and making them seem real. Nothing can tug on my heart strings and make tears spill down my face like one of your books (Sisterhood Everlasting especially!) My Name Is Memory did not disappoint! I fell in love with Daniel and wanted to badly to be Lucy! It’s killing me not knowing where they stand! I am so looking forward to the sequel!

    • Ann Brashares said,

      Macy,

      It warms my heart when I hear one of my books inspires a love for reading!

      My warmest and best,
      Ann

  31. Danielle said,

    I am truly hoping for a sequel… it is an epic story, and would be a shame to leave the readers wondering how the story ends. If Lucy and Daniel will ever be able to be together. The battle between Daniel & Joaquim, and the solution to his bodysnatches. Lucy & Daniel’s baby and whether it is another soul that Daniel knows being reborn. Lucy’s fate if Daniel cannot return. Daniel’s learning to live in the present without fear of losing it or looking too far ahead… too much is left without closure to a story that was deeply satisfying in its detail up to the end. It would be sad to readers that were invested in these characters that we all came to love had no closure.

    I don’t even need another few lifetimes, as I believe that now that Daniel has learned to live in & appreciate the present, and has been forgiven by Lucy for that first act, that he needs to continue to cycle. Maybe closure is just that, and his soul can rest after a long life?

    Please let us know if this may be in the cards… A new reader

  32. juli said,

    I just finished reading My Name is Memory. I couldn’t put it down! I went straight to the internet to see if you were writing a sequel, I’m keeping my fingers crossed everything works out so there is a series! I just have to know what happens!! <3's, Juli

  33. Miss Pegge said,

    Ann,

    OK, I never write on blogs, too much work and I’m a terrible speller so it takes me forever to get it written, proofed (never catch all my mistakes) and then posted. I finally got smart and now type it on MSWord first. Now, at least, I don’t send it too soon or drop the connection and lose it all together. Anyway, enough of that, I just finished posting under your “The Last Summer” blog and felt moved to post again about your incredible book, “My Name Is Memory” which I just finished.

    I loved this book and like all your other fans have posted I have my fingers crossed for a sequel. However, if one never unfolds, I will continue to treasure the characters, the love story, the intrigue and all the possibilities yet untold. I must be honest though, this book did not immediately capture my interest. I’d start it, stop it, start it again, I even read another book before this book completely captured my interest and then with great enthusiasm, I finished it! This is exactly why I rarely give-up on a book without really giving it a solid try. Boy, am I glad I did. You’re a new author to me, as I stated in my other post, I loved the “Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants” movies and decided to track you down the books to read. After reading the “Sisterhood” series, “The Last Summer” and now “My Name Is Memory, I’m hooked and now an ardent fan. I’m now set to read “3 Willows” and I will move on from there.

    I’m not sure how you like comparisons, but here goes one anyway, for me you fit right in with two of my very, very, favorite authors; Luanne Rice and Nicholas Sparks. I’ve read all their books (I do mean all) and wait very impatiently for their latest releases. What I love most about their books is the level of understanding and sensitivity their writing conveys concerning the human psyche, the various levels given to their characters and their relationships (no matter whether the relationships be love or hate), their storylines always surprise me, keep me guessing and always wanting more Their books often make me cry, which is OK, because it means the story or the characters have connected to something deep inside my heart or soul. It is these very same qualities that I’m finding and enjoying in your books. I’m so glad I’ve found you and I look forward to the years of enjoyment ahead as I impatiently await your new novels and stories.

  34. Hannah said,

    I just loved My Name Is Memory, but it ended on such a cliffhanger! I read that it was supposed to be a trilogy, but might not even get a second book now. I CANNOT bare to think that there won’t be another one. It was amazing. I loved Lucy and Daniel, please let them finish their stories. These characters really deserve it. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE! I loved this book and I cannot wait until the next one.

  35. Sofia said,

    Hi Ann!
    I recently read the poem Infinite Love by Rabindrath Tagore and it reminded me of My name is Memory. Have you read the poem? If you haven’t this is how it goes.

    It seems it’s you I have loved in a hundred forms, unending:
    birth after birth, through the ages.
    In many a form you have taken and swung around your neck
    the garland of songs my heart has stitched in sweet enchantment;
    birth after birth, through the ages.

    As I listen to that old-time song of pain and primeval love-
    the old, old tale of meeting and parting-
    and as I gaze into the infinite past,
    at last through the darkness of Time appears your form like the
    pole-star with memories eternally laden.

    From the heart of Time without beginning, we two have floated
    down in a double stream of passion.
    We two have lived in a million lovers,
    in the bashful smile of kissing and the tears of long partition,
    tasting the same old love in forms for ever new.

    And now that love of all the ages has met its last fulfilment in
    a heaped up offering at your feet.
    In you are all the joys and anguish and all affections of the heart.
    In a single love are blended the memories of all other passions,
    and all the songs that poets have sung through the ages.

    (August 1889)

    I hope this can inspire you to write the sequel becasue I can’t wait for it to come out!

    Oh, and the first book kind of did freak me out(don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved it!). My name is Sofia, I moved from Sweden, so basically another life, to Fairfax, Virginia and I did some shopping at Tysons Corner…

  36. susan leshen said,

    Hi
    I read this book about a year ago and fell in love with it – i keep reading about a possible sequel and have been keeping my fingers crossed – any update on this
    thanks
    Susan

  37. mistressgemini said,

    Is there any news about a sequel for this book? I read it around Christmas time & loved it. The last 150 pages I couldn’t stop reading until I knew what happened. I didn’t even dare stop for a bathroom break! After finishing the book I wanted to share it with my husband and after telling him the basic premise he asked to read it. Our oldest daughter read it after her dad finished. We’ve been upset with no conclusive answer about another book, so she & I have been creating our own ending. It is nice to be able to create what happened after the book, but we’d rather find out from the one that created the story and the characters.

  38. Marilyn said,

    YES!!! I would love to follow Daniel and Lucy life time. Especially this one- what happens to them? Does Lucy have to raise a child by herself??? Always sad? Please tell me there is a sequel in the works now!

  39. Toria said,

    “My Name is Memory” is one of my favorites! It can’t end the way it did though. I hope there is at least one more book to come! I am crossing my toes and fingers! Your publishers need to let you write at least a sequel! Your fans deserve it 🙂 I know I have been patiently waiting!!

  40. Jenjen said,

    I just finished My Name Is Memory. I’ve always believed in past lives and the connections we feel at various times with various people. I was very moved by your book. I look forward to reading more of your books.
    Blessings! Jenny

  41. Julene said,

    I just finished My Name is Memory. How did this book get by me for 2 years? I loved and hated the ending! I am not ready to be done with Lucy and Daniel. Please, please write a sequel or maybe a trilogy! I have never taken the time to visit or comment on a writer’s blog. This book is already on my re-read list!

  42. patricia said,

    I’ve just finished reading My Name is Memory, and I think I’m one of your many readers who are hoping for a sequel! Is there any possibility of one?

  43. Melissa Malmberg said,

    I really hope you write a sequel – the first book is begging for one!

  44. Suzanne said,

    Ann,
    I read your book 2 years ago and my husband and I have been looking for the sequel ever since. The story has haunted me in a way that very few books have. I love your writing, and shared this book with just about everyone I know. I just wanted you to know that there are some of us out here still hoping….
    With appreciation,
    Suzanne

  45. Maverick said,

    Please, please, please publish the sequel! I’m starting to lose hope that one is forthcoming. Any ideas on a date for publication yet?

  46. Natalie said,

    I just finished “My name is Memory”. I don’t know what to say. I am at odds with my feelings. I was so caught up in the story that I felt lost when I got to the end. I was happy that Daniel and Lucy lived but sad that their story was not finished, their happiness not secured. I loved this book, but I need a sequel, the story needs a sequel. I am also wondering why it took me so long to find this book. Congratulations!

  47. Nicki Allen said,

    Hi Ann,
    I read this book over a year ago – and I still constantly hope to hear news of a sequel. Just like other readers have previously posted, I want to hear more of Daniel and Lucy’s story! Is there any news on a sequel? Thanks.

  48. ELIZABETH said,

    I just finished my name is memory and started to look for the second book in hopes that it was finished. As soon as it hits the shelves it will be on mine. there where several times that I cried during reading it touch me so. I could not put it down I read it in one day. Looking forward to more and the possibility of the movie

  49. Rose said,

    Please make a sequel. If you can’t make a sequel for whatever reason please just tell us here on the blog what happened because I may just go crazy if I never find out what happens.

    -Rose
    p.s. I love the Sisterhood series!

Leave a Reply

